The struggle of Mama skin and the fight against aging!

Anyone who is my age, has probably started to notice the loss of that ‘fresh face’ appearance. That lovely glow we had in our twenties begins to fade and in the past few years, it’s escalated at quite a rapid rate. I’m not going to lie, I never had a great skincare routine, never really had need for it. That was up until just a few years ago, after the birth of my youngest son. My body decided to kick me back into puberty and give me spots. My face ended up severely breaking out, for what reason? I still do not know. Now I get much smaller ones closer to my period. My pores are getting bigger the older I become and the dryness is much more difficult to shift.

I was always a little fussy when it came to the creams I put on my face, my skin is quite sensitive and certain formulas can sting quite badly. I’ve spent so much time searching for magic lotions and potions to help inject a little bit of life back into my complexion, but so far nothing has worked.

One of my good friends is a bit of a science guru and doesn’t believe in ‘anti-ageing’ etc. She has rolled her eyes and scoffed at my suggestions of random lotions and potions when I ask her opinions on them. Last week, my said friend arrived at my house with a little tube of what looked like something you would get in a pharmacy. Nothing fancy, Retinol A gel. She told me it’s been scientifically proven to be the most successful topical formula to improve acne and even reduce fine lines by increasing collagen. She told me to apply it every second night and to commit to this for several months, in order to see any improvement. I’m now about a week in and Sweet Mother of Divine Jesus, I look like I’m going through some strange disease. The skin on my face is so dry and tight, flaking and peeling. It’s terrifying! It also increases your sensitivity to sunlight, so it’s imperative to use sun block every day.

So far, I’m not a great advertisement for this gel, however it’s only a week in so I’m holding out hope. Being a stressed out single Mama with an obscene amount of college papers due to write between now and December, I’ve aged like a mother ”£&er! Being mid to late thirties is a bit of a smack in the face! On the one hand I have kids and my life is coming together very nicely but slowly and on the other, the body and face is seriously starting to go the opposite of fresh and perky! I should probably exercise or eat healthily and drink more water! It’s bloody hard to stay motivated though, when all I really want to do is curl up and chill when I have a free minute.

Anyway, I’ll give an update on the flaky face situation soon and see if it’s worth this disgusting trauma. This is my public service announcement for anyone who may see me out in public with a flaky face! You have been warned.

#momlife #skin #antiaging #retinol #retinolAgel #flakyskin #fightwrinkles #beauty #helpmyskin #dryskin #lifestyle

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑